Division of Jainism   Indian Religion    History of religion    Philosophy of Religion    Sacred Scriptures    Spirituality in religion    Articles on Religion    Gods and Goddess    The Prophets and Messengers
Free E-magazine
Subscribe to our Free E-Magazine on Religion.
Learn More
Jimtrade.com : India Business to Business Directory
Business Directory of Indian Suppliers Manufacturers and Products from India.
India`s leading Yellow pages directory.
India`s leading Yellow pages directory.
Home > History of religion > Jainism > Division of Jainism
Division of Jainism
There are two sects called Digambaras and Svetambaras. Digambaras live naked as Lord Mahavira was.mahavira They appear to be older of the two. Svetambaras put on clothes and cover their mouth with a piece of cloth for fear of injuring insects. Both of them do not differ essentially in their beliefs and practices. For practical reasons, the Digambaras do not admit women as nuns. But Svetambaras have no objection against women in accepting them as nuns.

The two sects differ with regard to their beliefs relating to their religious Scripture. The Svetambaras accept the extant Angas, Upangas and other canonical works as genuine while the Digambaras hold that original work have been lost. The Digambaras have a number of collections in their custody but they are reluctant to make them public. On the whole, the Jainas have preserved a good deal of literary works of India.

The Digambaras (literally "sky clad" or naked): Their monks carry asceticism to the point of rejecting even clothing (even when they appear in public).

Division of JainismThe Shvetambaras (literally "white clad"): their monks wear simple white robes. The laity are permitted to wear clothes of any color.

The Digambaras donot allow women to become a nun in their sect but the women are allowed to become nun and lead lifes of renunciation in the Swetambara sect.
Division of Jainism Origin of Jainism Main theme of Jainis..
Concept of God In Ja..
Indianetzone.com | Home | Sitemap | Contact Us